Shekhinah romps home with three more SAMA24 nods

Shekhinah romps home with three more SAMA24 nods

Sultry vocalist Shekhinah raked in the most nominations as SAMA24 unveiled the finalists in the highly coveted and competitive top 5 categories. Her album, Rose Gold earned her a spot in the Female of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Album of the Year categories, bringing her total SAMA24 tally to six. She is up for Record of the Year for Suited and Best Produced and Best Pop Album for Rose Gold.

Mafikizolo continue their winning ways with two nominations in Duo/Group of the Year and Album of the Year for 20. Their new total number of nods stands at six with others in Best Afro-pop Album, Best Engineered Album and Best Produced Album plus Record of the Year for Love Potion.

Rapper Shane Eagle proves to have had a great year with two nods in Newcomer of the Year and Album of the Year. He’s already nominated for Best Hip Hop Album and Music Video of the Year.

Lady Zamar announces her arrival on the scene with nods in Female Artist of the Year and Album of the Year. She has two nominations in the Record of the Year for My Baby and Love is Blind.

Tresor’s Beautiful Madness booked him two berths in the top five categories, in Male Artist of the Year and album of the Year.

The nominees were revealed across SABC radio stations today starting at 6am until 6pm. Along with the announcement, SAMA24 also unveiled Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow as the theme of this year’s awards.

Commented Nhlanhla Sibisi, RiSA CEO: ‘We did things differently this year to drum up excitement as the countdown towards Sun City starts in earnest. We are proud of our nominees and we believe that they are worthy and now the stage is set to see who will take home a SAMA24 trophy come June 2. Congratulations to all and best wishes.’

SAMA24 Top 5 categories

Male Artist of the year

  • TRESOR – Beautiful Madness
  • Prince Kaybee – I Am Music
  • EMTEE – Manando
  • Nduduzo Makhathini – Ikhambi

 Female Artist of the year

  • Siphokazi – Siphokazi
  • Lady Zamar – King Zamar
  • Simphiwe Dana – Simphiwe Dana Symphony Experience
  • Busiswa – Highly Favoured
  • Shekhinah – Rose Gold

 Duo/Group of the Year

  • Prime Circle – If You Don’t You Never Will
  • Team Mosha – Sofa Silahlane
  • Goldfish – Late Night People
  • Mi Casa – Familia
  • Mafikizolo – Mafikizolo

  Newcomer of the Year

  • Rouge – The New Era Sessions
  • Shane Eagle – Yellow
  • Shekhinah – Rose Gold
  • Blaq Diamond – Blaq Diamond
  • Thabsie – Songs About You

 Album of the Year

  • Shane Eagle – Yellow
  • TRESOR – Beautiful Madness
  • Mafikizolo – 20
  • Lady Zamar – King Zamar
  • Shekhinah – Rose Gold

Comments are closed.